Deutsch   English   Français    Login  

Vagabonding Images

Streaming:
Pass:Vagabonding Images (D)
540p OV ST Deutsch

Pass:Vagabonding Images (E)
540p OV ST English

Pass:Vagabonding Images (F)
540p VO ST Français


View our films in streaming (flat rate):

artfilm.pass 1
for 1 day 5 CHF
artfilm.pass 30
for 30 days 12 CHF
artfilm.pass 365
for 365 days 80 CHF

Visions du Réel Nyon 1998

Vagabonding Images

CH 1998 48'

Director: Nicolas Humbert, Simone Fürbringer
Script: Nicolas Humbert, Simone Fürbringer
Camera: Nicolas Humbert, Simone Fürbringer
Sound: Nicolas Humbert, Simone Fürbringer
Editing: Nicolas Humbert, Simone Fürbringer
Music: Guy Klucevsek, Glenn Branca, Artbears
Production: SIMNIC FILMS


Internet:
Website Cinenomad

SWISS FILMS

ISAN: 0000-0000-DAA4-0000-I-0000-0000-K





Nicolas Humbert, Simone Fürbringer CH 1998 48'

A film that ressembles a dream. Shot over a period of several years, it is composed of fragments of memory and moments of life woven together to create a sequence of microscopic stories. VAGABONDING IMAGES is a film that plays with the forms of cinematic language inspired by the poetic collage techniques of the French Surrealists and Japanese Haiku poets.

This is the story of a couple, a family, the ages of man, from birth to death. It is a very simple history of cinema, weaving together images and sounds which are as fragile as hidden memories. From the indecipherable visual signs sketching shapes which gradually take form during a fragmented account up until its concluding return to the initial enigmatic images, VAGABONDING IMAGES is composed primarily of penetrating images. Shot over a period of several years, these images are for the most part fragmented. They cut up bodies, faces, an animal, a forest, heavy snowfall, and waves on a beach into details. The legs and buttocks of a woman swimming, the feet of a child, the ears of the animal. These images, these film shots, act like small stories of perception which consist of capturing shapes and light with the creative openness required by improvisation. The images flicker, and dots of black, white and color give the film its frailty and allow it to confer a fascinating density upon the subjects it portrays. The Super 8 film transferred to 16 mm proved to be an important aesthetic choice, avoiding the academic constraints of other formats.
The filmmakers have associated visual fragments with one another, thereby suggesting very short stories which they immediately leave suspended, available and accessible. Fade-outs, surprising combinations of heterogeneous images, sounds and music out of sync, the fitting intrusions of voices reciting texts by Dylan Thomas, Robert Frost and André Breton all create a poetic sense of time. VAGABONDING IMAGES is a film inspired by dreams, by memories which, as they emerge, weave together the stories of lives as they unfold in intimate detail. Important in the making of this film, which Simone Fürbringer and Nicolas Humbert qualify as a cadavre exquis, was the fact that the two filmmakers working together sought to keep control over the element of chance. Working first separately, then together, they looked among the thousands of possible combinations of fragments for the best place for each image so as to imbue their film with the same density as a haiku. The rowboat on the grey lake, the black bird in the sky, the village in the Siberian rain, the stretched belly of the pregnant woman, and the old hands cutting an apple combine to tell archaic stories for which the inspirational vagabonding images are the magnificent secular icons of our dreams and our nightmares.
Jean Perret, Visions du Réel Nyon 1998

Deutsch   English   Français    S’inscrire  

Vagabonding Images

Regarder en ligne:
Pass:Vagabonding Images (D)
540p OV ST Deutsch

Pass:Vagabonding Images (E)
540p OV ST English

Pass:Vagabonding Images (F)
540p VO ST Français


Visions du Réel Nyon 1998

Vagabonding Images

CH 1998 48'

Réalisation: Nicolas Humbert, Simone Fürbringer
Scénario: Nicolas Humbert, Simone Fürbringer
Image: Nicolas Humbert, Simone Fürbringer
Son: Nicolas Humbert, Simone Fürbringer
Montage: Nicolas Humbert, Simone Fürbringer
Musique: Guy Klucevsek, Glenn Branca, Artbears
Production: SIMNIC FILMS


Internet:
Website Cinenomad

SWISS FILMS

ISAN:0000-0000-DAA4-0000-I-0000-0000-K





Un film situé dans le rêve. Tourné sur plusieurs années, il est porté par l’émergence de souvenirs et de tranches de vie qui s’entremêlent en une suite d’histoires quotidiennes et intimes. VAGABONDING IMAGES peut être perçu comme une sorte de «cadavre exquis» dans le domaine cinématographique. Ce film est une approche ludique de l’univers filmique et de sa terminologie, inspirée des techniques de collage des surréalistes français et des poèmes haïkus japonais.

Il s’agit de l’histoire d’un couple, d’une famille, des âges de la vie, de la naissance et de la mort. Il s’agit d’une histoire du cinéma très simple, que tisssent des images et des sons fragiles comme des souvenirs enfouis.
De signes visuels indéchiffrables à l’esquisse de formes qui prennent petit à petit consistance au cours d’un récit lacunaire s’achevant avec les mêmes images énigmatiques qui l’inaugurent, VAGABONDING IMAGES est en tout premier lieu composé d’images pénétrantes. Tournées au cours de plusieurs années, elles sont essentiellement fragmentaires. Elles découpent le détail de corps, de visages, d’un animal, d’une forêt, de la neige qui tombe épaisse et silencieuse, des vagues de la mer s’épuisant sur une plage. Les jambes de la nageuse, ses fesses, les pieds de l’enfant, l’oreille de l’animal. Ces images, ces plans de cinéma, agissent à la façon de petites aventures de la perception, qui consistent à capter des formes et des lumières avec la disponibilité créatrice que requiert l’improvisation. Les images palpitent, les grains de noir, de blanc et de couleur font rendre à la pellicule sa fragilité et sa capacité de donner à ce dont elle s’imprègne une fascinante densité. La pellicule Super 8 utilisée, transférée ensuite sur 16 mm, s’avère ici un choix esthétique déterminant, qui déjoue les pesanteurs académiques d’autres supports.
Les cinéastes associent ces fragments visuels à d’autres et suggèrent de toutes petites histoires, qu’aussitôt ils laissent en suspens, disponibles et accessibles. Transitions par des noirs, rapprochements proprement surprenants d’images hétérogènes, présences décalées des sons, des musiques, et intrusions attentionnées de voix disant des textes de Dylan Thomas, Robert Frost, André Breton, composent une temporalité onirique. VAGABONDING IMAGES est un film rêvé, porté par l’émergence de pièces de souvenirs qui tissent des histoires de vies appréhendées dans leur déroulement quotidien et intime. Il n’est pas indifférent qu’ils aient été deux, Simone Fürbringer et Nicolas Humbert, pour concevoir ce film qu’ils qualifient de cadavre exquis, mais dont ils se sont employés à maîtriser les hasards. Parmi les milliers de combinaisons possibles des fragments, ils ont cherché à tour de rôle, puis ensemble, la meilleure place pour chaque image, la seule, telle qu’elle donnait à leur film la densité de haikus. La barque du lac gris, l’oiseau noir du ciel, le village sous la pluie sibérienne, le ventre tendu de la grossesse, les vieilles mains coupant une pomme, participent de récits archaïques dont les images inspirées de vagabonding images sont les magnifiques icônes laïques de nos rêves et de nos cauchemars.
Jean Perret, Visions du Réel Nyon 1998