Deutsch   English   Français  Login  

Jour de nuit

Streaming:
Pass:Jour de nuit
540p Deutsch,Français ST Deutsch,English,Français


View our films in streaming (flat rate):

artfilm.pass 1
for 1 day 5 CHF
artfilm.pass 30
for 30 days 12 CHF
artfilm.pass 365
for 365 days 80 CHF

  Buy DVD at the producer                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    


Internet:
Visions du Réel Fiche JOUR DE NUIT


ISAN: 0000-0001-67E5-0000-A-0000-0000-7

Visions du Réel Nyon 2000
Berner Filmpreis

Jour de nuit

CH 2000 90'

Director: Dieter Fahrer, Bernhard Nick
Script: Dieter Fahrer, Bernhard Nick
Camera: Dieter Fahrer
Sound: Balthasar Jucker
Editing:: Maya Schmid, Stephan Ribi
Music:: Werner Aeschbacher, Tini Hägler, Bernhard Nick, Victoria Givre, Victoria Givre
Production:: Balzli & Fahrer GmbH
With: Peter Bergmann, Monie Maziane, Bruno Netter

Dieter Fahrer, Bernhard Nick 2000 90'

He sets his easel up towards the end of the valley near the waterfall, to linger, observe and paint. Just to be there, in the power of natural light. His house, the centre of his existence and his hearth in the winter months, stands at the edge of the forest. Paris, “Ville lumière”. A man. A woman. Both actors. Both blind. Blind in a blinding-dazzling world. Hearing in darkness. Seeing in darkness. Keeping alert. A play of shadowy figures emerges from the darkness towards the light, into the light: a playing child that knows only the present and in it recognises the wonderful “now” in which all things exist. A film about light, seeing and perception.

"The first light of this film sparkles in the water that a boat is gently cutting through. As a myriad of dancing reflections, it is fragile, intangible and mysterious. Then a large door opens, through which an enormous mass of light invades the space. But darkness quickly mingles with this enigmatic opening of a narrative. Three faces, three bodies – which bulbs of white light illuminate in bursts – pierce the night of a tightrope walkers' show (in Italy).
JOUR DE NUIT is the multiple story of forms of light as perceived by people who see light and who work with it. The painter who sets up his easel in a grandiose landscape in the Bernese Oberland (in Switzerland), the passengers on a boat gliding in semi-darkness along the Canal Saint Martin (in Paris), are searching for rays of light to give volume to the colours and consistency to the materials.
The film's intention is rendered more complex by the presence of people who cannot see or whose blindness is degenerative. There is this couple of actors who tell of the night they can see, a mother who is painting with her sighted child – a beautiful scene in which a shared creative activity transcends the handicaps. Thus gradually JOUR DE NUIT weaves a network of connections between the various, seemingly-disparate fragments, with which the film has a field day. This film is thirsty for the flavours of the world, its know-how (the felt boots), its culture (the theatre) and its voices (the characters' sober comments). Brightdark, day-night, hot-cold, summer-winter and indoor-outdoor are the pairs that the film-makers are clever enough to portray without oversimplifying. On the contrary, the associative and digressive pairs suggest a meditation about our perceptions, which turn us into solitary yet interdependent beings. Solitary like the blind beggar woman in the Paris metro who repeats in an endless litany “for my children”. Interdependent like all the people who, at the end of the film, leave the foreground to disappear together in the blinding light. Without being oversymbolic or taking the metaphors too far, the directors then complete as lay priests a film about a secular communion imbued with spirituality.
Jean Perret, Visions du Réel Nyon

Deutsch   English   Français    S’inscrire  

Jour de nuit

Streaming:
Pass:Jour de nuit
540p Deutsch,Français ST Deutsch,English,Français


Voir nos films en streaming (flat rate):

artfilm.pass 1
pour 1 jour 5 CHF
artfilm.pass 30
pour 30 jours 12 CHF
artfilm.pass 365
pour 365 jours 80 CHF

  Acheter le DVD chez le producteur                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    


Internet:
Visions du Réel Fiche JOUR DE NUIT


ISAN: 0000-0001-67E5-0000-A-0000-0000-7

Visions du Réel Nyon 2000
Berner Filmpreis

Jour de nuit

CH 2000 90'

Réalisation: Dieter Fahrer, Bernhard Nick
Scénario: Dieter Fahrer, Bernhard Nick
Image: Dieter Fahrer
Son: Balthasar Jucker
Montage: Maya Schmid, Stephan Ribi
Musique:: Werner Aeschbacher, Tini Hägler, Bernhard Nick, Victoria Givre, Victoria Givre
Production: Balzli & Fahrer GmbH
Avec: Peter Bergmann, Monie Maziane, Bruno Netter

Dieter Fahrer, Bernhard Nick 2000 90'

Au fond de la vallée, près de la cascade, il monte son chevalet. Flâner, regarder, peindre – exister avec les forces de la lumière naturelle. A l'orée de la forêt, il place sa maison, centre de son activité, son foyer en hiver. Paris – «Ville lumière». Un homme. Une femme. Tous deux acteurs. Tous deux ayant perdu la vue. Aveugles dans un monde aveuglant. Ecouter dans le noir. Voir dans le noir. Etre en éveil. Des silhouettes de théâtre d'ombre surgissent de l'obscurité à la lumière et dans la lumière: un enfant qui joue, qui ne connaît que le présent et à travers ce dernier, la magnifique présence du tout. Un film sur la lumière, la vue et la perception.

"C'est dans l'eau que fend doucement une barque que la première lumière de ce film scintille. En myriade de reflets dansants, elle est fragile, intangible, mystérieuse.
Puis une grande porte s'ouvre, par laquelle une immense masse de lumière envahit l'espace. Mais, rapidement, l'obscurité se mêle à ce début de récit énigmatique. Trois visages, trois corps, que des ampoules de lumière blanche éclairent par saccades, percent la nuit d'un spectacle de funambules (en Italie).
JOUR DE NUIT est l'histoire plurielle de la lumière telle qu'elle est perçue par des gens qui la voient, qui travaillent grâce à elle. Le peintre qui plante son chevalet dans un grandiose paysage de l'Oberland bernois (en Suisse), les passagers d'une embarcation qui parcourent dans la pénombre le canal Saint-Martin (à Paris) sont en quête de traits de lumière qui confèrent un volume aux couleurs et une consistance aux matières.
Le propos du film se complexifie par la présence de gens qui ne voient pas. Il y a ce couple de comédiens qui dit la nuit qu'il voit, cette mère qui avec son enfant voyant peint, belle scène où une activité créative commune transcende les handicaps. Ainsi, petit à petit, JOUR DE NUIT tisse un réseau de correspondances entre les différents fragments, apparemment disparates, dont il fait son miel. Car ce film, gourmand, est avide des saveurs du monde, de ses savoir-faire (les bottes de feutre), de ses cultures (le théâtre), de ses voix (les sobres réflexions des personnages). Clair-obscur, jour-nuit, chaud-froid, été-hiver, intérieur-extérieur sont les couples que les cinéastes ont le talent de décliner sans schématisme. Au contraire, associatifs et digressifs, ils suggèrent une méditation sur nos perceptions, qui nous constituent en êtres solitaires et solidaires. Solitaire, cette mendiante aveugle dans le métro parisien, qui répète en une interminable litanie: «pour mes enfants». Solidaires tous ces gens qui à la fin du film quittent le devant de la scène pour disparaître ensemble dans la lumière aveuglante. Sans abuser de symboles ni forcer sur les métaphores, les cinéastes achèvent alors en prêtres laïcs un film de communion profane empreinte de spiritualité."
Jean Perret, Visions du Réel Nyon