Deutsch   English   Français    Login  

La vie en deux



Frédéric Baillif CH 2009 75'

So, this is me. My name's Fred, I'm 34 years old and single. Some time ago, I suffered a big blow and I'm just about starting to get over it now. There's just one small problem… and it's the problem of all singles: Sundays... Those famous Sundays when you're bored stiff… and have all the time in the world to mull things over. Why am I all alone? Will it always be like this? Fortunately there are lots of other singles my age…

Alone in his Geneva flat, a man well into his thirties does his washing and then sits down to eat his tortellini with his headphones on in front of his computer. It is Sunday; he is single. In a voice-over, this man, the director, talks about being single, something that is more and more common among those who are past thirty. He needs only look around him. Whether because of disappointment, repeated behavioural patterns or difficult break-ups, most of his friends have difficulty finding a partner. The film avoids long speeches and galleries of portraits and instead captures these single people at revealing moments – the trendy thirty-yearold buying peonies at the Saturday morning market before reading a newspaper on a terrace, or the group of friends spending a weekend of drinking and good food in the south of Europe – and enters into a part of their private lives, but without voyeurism. What is common to the characters is that they are all friends of the director. He knows them and he knows how to film them with a light touch and a good sense of humour.
With the same energy as in GEISENDORF (VdR 2006, Prix Helvétiques), Frédéric Baillif manages in LA VIE EN DEUX to give a face to the bachelor condition and, without resorting to sociology or psychology, expresses this lowly “status” in images and, above all, emotions. So when one of his friends confesses : “After the last break-up, I used to cry in the car, behind the wheel, with sad music on,” we can judge as to the success of his methods.
Visions du Réel Nyon 2009

Deutsch   English   Français    Anmelden  

La vie en deux



Ich heisse Fred, bin 34 Jahre alt und ledig. Vor einiger Zeit erlebte ich eine grosse Enttäuschung und erhole mich nun langsam davon. Doch da gibt es ein kleines Problem, das Problem aller Alleinstehenden: die Sonntage … Die berühmten Sonntage, an denen man sich langweilt und alle Zeit der Welt hat, um zu grübeln. Weshalb bin ich allein? Wird das immer so sein? Glücklicherweise gibt es haufenweise Alleinstehende in meinem Alter.

Ein Mann um die Dreissig ist allein in seiner Genfer Wohnung, macht seine Wäsche und isst, mit aufgesetzten Kopfhörern, vor seinem Computer Tortellini. Es ist Sonntag, er ist Single. Dieser Mann ist der Regisseur, dessen Off- Stimme sich über das Single-Dasein Gedanken macht, jenen sozialen Status, den immer mehr Dreissigjährige innehaben. Er muss sich nur umsehen. Sei es die Frucht einer Enttäuschung, eines endlos wiederholten Verhaltensschemas oder einer schwer zu verdauenden Trennung, die Mehrzahl seiner Freunde hat Mühe, einen Partner zu finden. Der Film vermeidet langes Reden und Porträtaufnahmen, sondern zeigt diese Singles in aufschlussreichen Situationen – der dreissigjährige Bobo kauft am Samstagmorgen Pfingstrosen auf dem Markt und liest dann auf einer Terrasse seine Zeitung, während die Wochenend-Clique im Süden saufen und gutes Essen auf dem Programm hat; so dringt er ohne jeglichen Voyeurismus in ihr Intimleben ein. Denn alle Figuren sind Angehörige des Regisseurs. Er kennt sie und weiss, wie er sie filmen muss. Mit Anstand und Humor.
Mit der gleichen Energie wie in GEISENDORF (VdR 2006, Prix Helvétiques) gelingt es Frédéric Baillif mit LA VIE EN DEUX dem Single- Dasein ein Gesicht zu verleihen und diesen verbreiteten „Zivilstand“ fern von Soziologie und Psychologie in Bilder und vor allem Emotionen zu überführen.
Und wenn einer seiner Kumpel gesteht : „Bei meiner letzten Trennung habe ich am Steuer meinesWagens zu trauriger Musik geweint“, dann ermisst man erst die volle Richtigkeit seiner Herangehensweise.
Visions du Réel Nyon 2009